RSS Feed

1950’s Fashion

Last week The World of Clementine Ray and I took a trip to Selfridges to see part of their Big Britannica exhibition. The free exhibition features dresses from the 1950s, inspired by Vogue editions fom 1951 – 53, and the use of patterns in a post war ‘make do and mend’ culture.

The outfits are stunning; glamorous silhouettes that I think suit everyone, I’m inspired to get my sewing machine out of storage, attend a class or two and maybe have a go…

Some favourite pieces are below, I’m particularly in love with this skirt suit:

Image

Image

Image

Image

My only comment would be that I wish there were a few more pieces to make the exhibition larger. Though Selfridges has so much going on you that a wander around afterwards more than served to keep me entertained!

Leave a Reply

