RSS Feed

Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Before last week I had never watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

And to add to the embarrassment of reaching 25 without seeing this classic film, I hadn’t remotely appreciated what I had been missing.

Thankfully this has now been rectified, I have now seen the film (at the wonderful Rooftop Film Club no less, see my review for Romeo Says So here) and I am completely and utterly in love with Audrey Hepburn, or Holly Golightly I can’t quite be sure.

Incredibly charismatic, and managing to combine an extravagant while charming dress sense, I have a new and pretty serious girl crush – move over Miranda Kerr!

These are my favourite aspects of her look:

– Costume jewellery

– Dressing as she wants no matter the occasion

– Making dishevelled look sexy

– And perhaps the best accessory of all, a great ginger cat!

15 responses »

  1. Oddly enough, I’ve read this, amongst a collection of Capote’s other short stories, but never got round to watching the film. Loved the book, I’m sure I’ll enjoy the film – though admittedly not on top of a Shoreditch roof.

    Reply
  2. I’ve reached an even greater age and not yet seen it. The ginger cat does it for me – must see that film.

    Reply
  3. Oh Audrey… such a timeless icon. I can listen to her sing Moon River on repeat.

    Reply
  4. I too just finally watched this movie (Netflix is great) and just recently watched Sabrina (1954) and loved her in both. I use to wonder why people were all about Audrey but now I kinda get it.

    Reply
  5. Audrey was so adorable and endearing. I finally watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s when I was about 22. I went through my older sister’s dvd collection and she admitted that she had never watched the movie/couldn’t ever get into it. How that’s possible, I don’t know. I put it in and instantly fell in love. And you’re right; the ginger cat was the best accessory! 😀

    Reply
  6. Ginger cat chucked out of cab????? Was he ok?

    Reply
  7. Be warned: the book and the movie are very much different. The book is much darker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

