RSS Feed

MTV VMA’s: The good, the bad and Nicki Minaj

For me the best dressed at the MTV Video Music Awards was Emma Watson, partly because there was a spate of fairly bland dresses, with Watson offering colour and print, but mainly because the Peter Pilotto dress suits her perfectly and is simply gorgeous. I also loved Taylor Swift in her extraordinarily impractical but stunning white suit by J Mendel, and Zoe Saldana in Salvatore Ferragamo which looks exquisitely detailed and saved from obscurity by its long sleeves.

On the other hand, for me Rihanna can’t quite pull off a white dress, cut oddly short with fabric gathering unflatteringly at her hips and worn braless. Alicia Keys’ dress is not even remotely defensible as it manages to be both boring and hideous all in one go. And Jessica Szohr manages to destroy a pretty black dress with some bizarre styling choices.

And I can’t leave this post without giving some space to Nicki Minaj, and in a random way I think I kind of, sort of, maybe like it. Shhhh…

4 responses »

  1. Oh Nicki, lol. Have to keep her and Lady Gaga around just for the crazy outfits.
    98% of people could not pull off Emma’s dress (and it’s definitely not my style) but she looks awesome in it.

    Reply
  2. Agree with everything you say – I love a bit of Peter Pilotto, but then I am print and colour mad! I also like the hint of art deco that comes from Zoe Saldana’s dress. Very nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

